Shedding Skin

I’ve had enough of this
gray and cold
the flu season

virulent
violence to
sinuses and fragile
skin flaking

I am a snake
emerging with tender
new flesh

the old is falling
away and this spring
will be the birth
of the new

a form I can’t yet see
but baby, it will good

I’ve been on a blind
date with fate
for too long
so negligent
needs piling up so

instead
I am dreaming
of you
how you’ll kiss

my recreated self
and wish me a
belated happy birthday
new skin
fresh glow of me
fuck yes

~

2 responses to “Shedding Skin

Leave a Reply

