Forgetting: a microtale


In the morning I woke up unsure of where I was. In the thin light straining through the blinds I saw the man from the bar last night asleep beside me in a narrow bed. A nighstand with beer bottles and a half-smoked joint. Clothes strewn across the floor from door to mattress. Well, I suppose I’d been there to use: me with my sadness and alcoholic ways worn like a badge of weird honor, me with the recent breakup, me with my inconsolable heart and the warm and willing flesh.

>

I didn’t really stop to think about it. I just got dressed and ready to leave. I didn’t write a note and I couldn’t remember his name. He wasn’t coyote ugly, but I saw nothing in his sleeping face to help me remember why I’d gravitated toward him in the first place.

>

That’s how it is sometimes. We just end up, however briefly, with the closest body that will have us and hope they help us escape ourselves for a long, shuddering moment. Taking off manufactured identities along with our clothes.

>

Even the tawdry can be momentarily sublime if we can stand stripped down to spirit, unashamed. I’d like to think we achieved that in the grasp of the night but I really don’t remember and in the grand scheme of things it doesn’t seem to matter any more.

~

One response to “Forgetting: a microtale

  1. I?|ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Studying this info So i am happy to express that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I such a lot unquestionably will make certain to don?|t fail to remember this web site and provides it a look regularly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

