Waltz for the Exhausted

The city is melting
now, in rains that came in
after the snow. All has gone
liquid or slush, not quite

frozen, not quite flowing.
You sleep the sleep of one
exhausted by such things
as bus schedules and boots

that need resoling. As
for me, I stay up thinking
on things like precipitation
and ambient air temperature

because my mind needs
a few solid facts to chew on
much as a starving man
might crave a bit of meat.

There really should be
more to it than that
but even I get tired of thinking
about the weather so I shall

let it rest and tiptoe a little
waltz as I take myself off to
the bed you’ve warmed for me.
Even the restless must sleep.

~

One response to “Waltz for the Exhausted

Leave a Reply

